Children in conflict with law

  • PDFPrintE-mail

I. Definition

The Child in Conflict with the Law (CCL) means any person under 18 who has committed or perpetrated an offense or is an accomplice or charged. This is a child whose actions fall within the scope of the law and who is called to deal with the institutional system of reparations to others or to society.

II. Target characterization

We can find the CCL at Police Stations, Courts, Prisons, Public Institutions catering for minors and reeducating socially maladjusted juveniles, Private Social Structures catering for children, or families.
Some get in conflict with the law following a complaint, raids by security forces or a request for assistance from family members. It could therefore be classified into 03 categories:
1. Children who cannot be accused of having been in the wrong place at the wrong time;
2. Socially maladjusted children, i.e. those with behavioural problems such that they are unable to adapt to their environment, to adjust to the society, to play their role in society, and thus pose a real problem in their families;
3. Delinquent children, that is to say those who, beyond the benign characteristics of juvenile social maladjustment acts, have gone the extra mile of committing a wrongdoing which in legal terms is called a crime.

III. Special protection measures of CCL

The CCL should receive a categorical separation from adults in their place of detention or imprisonment (Police Station, Territorial Units of Gendarmerie, Prisons ...).
During the preliminary investigation of the minor, custody should only be used when it is absolutely necessary, and the hearing is to take place in the presence of his parents or other family member or in the presence of the Social Worker assigned to the unit concerned.
When pursuing the minor is necessary and subject to the provisions of Article 80 of the Penal Code, the person pursuing him can only be convinced of the crime by way of legal information, information that will focus on useful investigations on the knowledge of his personality (the Criminal Procedure Code envisages social enquiry and medical examination as measures at the discretion of the Judge and the means of achieving this). In addition, restrictive or custodial measures likely to occur at this stage of the procedure are rare and must be taken by the judge "in the interest of the minor." They are:

  1. Judicial placement of the minor in a reception and observation centre, a rehabilitation centre or a (see Decree No. 2001/109 of 20 March 2001) shelter;
  2. The custody of the minor is a judicial supervision measure of prohibiting him from going to some circles, meet some people, practice activities related to the act charged, and obliging him to make himself available for justice, e.g. answering the summons of any judicial authority;
  3. Remand in custody: The concern for rapid social reintegration of the child led the legislature to make the detention of a minor an exception. Indeed, Article 704 of the CPC envisages this measure for minors aged 12 to 14 years only in cases of assassination, murder or manslaughter and Article 705 does provide it for minors aged 14 to 18 years only if the measure is indispensable. In any case, the best interests of the child should guide the decision of the judge, especially when there is reason to fear for the safety of the child. When detention is unavoidable, the law requires that it takes place only in an appropriate institution. It is under Article 706 of rehabilitation facilities, or in a special section in a prison authorized to accommodate juveniles.

If he is transferred, it must be carried out under conditions favouring the protection of the minor against trauma that may result particularly in  inhuman and degrading treatment or exposure to unsavory publicity.
On the judgment of minors, procedural rules have been simplified and harmonized by the Criminal Procedure Code (CPC). Thus the Court of First Instance acting in juvenile delinquency jurisdiction over all types of offenses committed by the minors aged ten years and under 18 years of age, except when involved in the same case as accomplices or major sponsors. This court is composed of a heterogeneous collegiality including magistrates and judges. These assessors are appointees, "known for their interest in children's issues or for their expertise in this area," whose role is to advise the judge, whose opinion must be taken into consideration in judicial decisions. (See art 710 CPC). In addition, to ensure a fair trial and the protection of privacy of the minor, the legislature has provided systematic appointment of a counsel and limited advertising particularly the need for in camera hearing.
Furthermore, measures and penalties that the Court may impose on the minor after the judgment must proceed from the interests of rapid social rehabilitation of the latter. They are mentioned in articles 724-730 of the CPC and vary according to the age of the minor, the nature of the offense and depending on whether it is a recurrence or not. Some prohibit freedom but most are real alternatives to imprisonment. These alternatives are simple admonition / reprimand, placement of the child in an institution of rehabilitation, probation, placement in a vocational school or care, preventive engagement, or the award of custody to his parents, guardian, custodian or any trustworthy person. In any case, the judge is advised to focus on measures that would appear to be natural life for the child, and only opt for institutional solution as a last resort.
Regardless of the type of offense, a 10-year-old minor enjoys an irrefutable presumption of criminal responsibility.

IV. Prevention and management of the phenomenon

The prevention of the phenomenon of Children in Conflict with the Law, as well as its management, calls the family as the first part of socialization as well as the community, the government, the children themselves, the media, private structures catering for children, civil society, regional and local authorities, and religious denominations.
In fact:
Parents should be aware of their responsibilities vis-à-vis their children. It is, for example, strengthening the capacity of children to fulfill their duties and responsibilities, providing them the culture of effort, inculcating in them respect for the freedom of others, the love of country and positive socio-cultural values (love of parents, respect for elders ...).
•   For their part, children should know that if they have rights, they also have duties. The African Charter on the Rights and Welfare of the Child states in Article 31 that: "Every child has responsibilities towards his family, society, the State and other legally recognized communities and towards the international community" . These obligations include respect for institutions, legal norms and social norms of their membership companies.
•  The community must promote social cohesion and solidarity towards members in difficulty, thus the management of benign forms of social maladjustment by secondary social networks, when parents are overwhelmed;
•  The means of government actions in the prevention and treatment of juvenile social maladjustment are not limited to the establishment of the legal framework that we discussed. Parents can receive technical support in the management education of their children in hand by, for instance, going towards social centers of their subdivision of residence. Social Action Services with Police Stations, the courts and correctional institutions provide among other things psychosocial support in the administrative chain of juvenile justice. Government institutions that cater for minors and for the rehabilitation of socially maladjusted juveniles provide assessment of their situation and the restructuring of their personality to better rehabilitation. Administrations involved also develop programmes to strengthen the capacity of parents to play their role, such as parental education programme, the programme for the education of the people on responsible parenthood, the proposed fight against the phenomenon of street children. This would allow children to avoid harmful behaviours.
•  Acting as an extension of state action, private childcare structures increase national capacities for the institutional care of social maladjusted children for reintegration.
The civil society must continue to advocate the respect and achievement of children's rights, promote family harmony and ensure the relay messages from the Government within communities.
• In granting relief from the state to indigent families and supporting them in achieving income-generating activities, the Regional and Local Authorities are tackling the issue of poverty as an indirect determinant of juvenile social maladjustment (slip the child to the streets in search of daily bread and exposure to promiscuity with other offenders).
Faiths contribute to the prevention of juvenile social maladjustment by educating the flock on family harmony and responsible parenthood.

Language

English (UK)

Research

Calender

July 2019
MTWTFSS
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031

Visitors Statistics

mod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_counter
mod_vvisit_counterToday140
mod_vvisit_counterYesterday2527
mod_vvisit_counterThis week4820
mod_vvisit_counterLast week15269
mod_vvisit_counterThis month40557
mod_vvisit_counterLast month34359
mod_vvisit_counterAll days1385597

Who's Online

We have 30 guests online

Enfant en conflit avec la loi

  • PDFImprimerEnvoyer

I- DEFINITION

L’Enfant en Conflit avec la Loi (ECL) désigne toute personne de moins de 18 ans qui a commis seul ou en coaction une infraction ou qui en est complice ou accusée. Il s’agit d’un enfant dont les agissements tombent sous le coup de la loi et qui est appelé à faire face au système institutionnel de réparation des torts causés à autrui ou à la société.

II- CARACTERISATION DE LA CIBLE

On peut retrouver les ECL dans les Commissariats, les Tribunaux, les Prisons, les Institutions Publiques d’encadrement des mineurs et de rééducation des mineurs inadaptés sociaux, les Œuvres Sociales Privées d’encadrement des enfants, ou les familles.
Certains entrent en conflit avec la loi à la suite d’une plainte, de rafles des forces de sécurité ou d’une demande d’assistance des membres de leur famille. On pourrait donc les classer en 03 catégories :

  1. les enfants à qui il ne peut être reproché que d’avoir été au mauvais endroit au mauvais moment ;
  2. les enfants inadaptés sociaux c’est-à-dire dont les troubles de comportement sont tels qu’ils sont incapables de s’adapter à leur environnement, de s’ajuster à la société, de jouer leur rôle social, et posent de ce fait un réel problème à leurs proches ;
  3. les enfants délinquants, c’est-à-dire qui, au-delà des actes bénins caractéristiques de l’inadaptation sociale juvénile, ont franchi le pas en posant l’acte répréhensible auquel on confère la qualification juridique d’infraction.

III- MESURES SPECIALES DE PROTECTION DES ECL

Les ECL doivent bénéficier d’une séparation catégorielle avec les adultes sur les lieux de détention ou d’emprisonnement (Commissariat, Unités Territoriales de Gendarmerie, Prisons…).
Lors de l’enquête préliminaire concernant le mineur, le recours à la garde à vue ne doit intervenir qu’en cas d’absolue nécessité, et son audition se dérouler soit en présence de ses parents ou de tout autre responsable de la famille, soit en présence du Travailleur Social affecté à l’unité concernée
Lorsque la poursuite du mineur s’avère nécessaire et sous réserve des dispositions de l’article 80 du Code Pénal, celui convaincu de crime ou de délit ne peut  l’être que par voie d’information judiciaire, une information qui mettra l’accent sur les investigations utiles à la connaissance de sa personnalité (le Code de Procédure Pénale envisage l’enquête sociale et l’examen médicale comme des mesures laissées à l’appréciation du Juge d’instruction et susceptibles d’y concourir). Par ailleurs, les mesures restrictives ou privatives de liberté susceptibles d’intervenir à ce stade de la Procédure sont exceptionnelles et doivent être prises par le Juge « dans l’intérêt du mineur ». Ce sont :

  1. le placement (judiciaire) du mineur dans un centre d’accueil et d’observation, un centre de rééducation ou un centre d’hébergement (Cf. décret N°2001/109 du 20 mars 2001) ;
  2. la mise sous garde du mineur est une mesure de surveillance judiciaire qui consiste à lui interdire de fréquenter certains milieux, personnes, de pratiquer des  activités ayant un rapport avec l’acte reproché, et en lui faisant obligation de se rendre disponible pour la justice en répondant par exemple aux convocations de toute autorité judiciaire ;
  3. la détention provisoire : Le souci de réinsertion sociale rapide du mineur a conduit le législateur à faire de la détention provisoire du mineur une exception. En effet, l’article 704 du CPP n’envisage cette mesure pour les mineurs de 12 à 14 ans qu’en cas d’assassinat, de meurtre ou de coups mortels et l’article 705 ne la prévoit pour les mineurs de 14 à 18 ans que si cette mesure est indispensable. Dans tous les cas, l’intérêt supérieur du mineur devra guider la décision du Juge, notamment lorsqu’il y aura lieu de craindre pour la sécurité de l’enfant. Lorsque la détention provisoire est inévitable, la loi exige qu’elle ne s’effectue que dans une institution appropriée. Il s’agit aux termes de l’article 706 des établissements de rééducation, ou alors un quartier spécial d’une prison habilitée à accueillir les mineurs.1

S’il y a déferrement, il doit être effectué dans des conditions privilégiant la protection du mineur contre des traumatismes pouvant résulter notamment des traitements inhumains et dégradants ou de l’exposition à une publicité de mauvais aloi.
Concernant le jugement des mineurs, les règles de procédure ont été simplifiées et harmonisées par le Code de Procédure Pénale (CPP). C’est ainsi que le Tribunal de Première Instance statuant en matière de délinquance juvénile est compétent pour connaître de tous les types d’infractions commises par le mineur âgé de plus de dix ans et de moins de 18 ans, sauf lorsqu’il est impliqué dans la même cause que des complices ou coauteurs majeurs. Ce tribunal est composé d’une collégialité hétérogène comprenant des magistrats professionnels et des assesseurs. Ces assesseurs sont des personnes nommées, « connues pour l’intérêt qu’elles portent aux questions de l’enfance ou pour leur compétence en la matière », dont le rôle est de conseiller le juge et dont l’opinion doit être prise en considération dans les décisions de justice. (Cf. art 710 du CPP). Par ailleurs, en vue de garantir un procès équitable et la protection de la vie privée du mineur,  le législateur a prévu la désignation systématique d’un conseil et une publicité restreinte notamment par l’exigence du huis clos.
Bien plus, les mesures et les peines que le Tribunal peut infliger au mineur à l’issue du jugement doivent procéder du souci de resocialisation rapide de ce dernier. Elles sont mentionnées dans les articles 724 à 730 du CPP et varient selon l’âge du mineur, la nature de l’infraction et suivant qu’il s’agit ou non d’une récidive. Certaines sont privatives de liberté mais la plupart sont de véritables alternatives à l’emprisonnement. Ces alternatives sont la simple admonestation/réprimande, le placement du mineur dans une institution de rééducation, la mise en liberté surveillée, le placement dans un établissement de formation professionnelle ou de soins, l’engagement préventif, ou l’attribution de sa garde à ses parents, tuteur, gardien ou à toute personne digne de confiance. En tout état de cause, il est conseillé au juge de privilégier les mesures qui s’exécuteront dans le cadre de vie naturel de l’enfant, et d’opter pour la solution institutionnelle en dernier recours.
Indépendamment du type d’infraction commise, le mineur de 10 ans bénéficie d’une présomption irréfragable d’irresponsabilité pénale.

IV- PREVENTION ET PRISE EN CHARGE DU PHENOMENE

La prévention du phénomène de l’Enfance en Conflit avec la Loi, tout comme sa prise en charge, interpelle autant la famille comme premier cadre de socialisation, que la communauté, les pouvoirs publics, les enfants eux-mêmes, les media, les structures privées d’encadrement des enfants, les organisations de la société civile, les collectivités territoriales décentralisées, et les confessions religieuses.
En effet :

  • Les parents doivent prendre conscience de leurs responsabilités vis-à-vis de leurs enfants. Il s’agit par exemple de renforcer les capacités des enfants à assumer leurs devoirs et responsabilités, de leur transmettre le culte de l’effort, de leur inculquer le respect de la liberté d’autrui, l’amour de la Patrie et des valeurs socioculturelles positives (amour des parents, respect des ainés…).
  • Les enfants doivent quant à eux savoir que s’ils ont des droits, ils ont aussi des devoirs. La Charte Africaine des Droits et du Bien Etre de l’Enfant dispose en son article 31 que : « Tout enfant a des responsabilités envers sa famille, la société, l’Etat et toute autre communauté  reconnue légalement ainsi qu’envers la communauté internationale ». Parmi ces obligations figurent le respect des institutions, des normes juridiques en vigueur et des normes sociales de leurs sociétés d’appartenance.
  • La communauté doit promouvoir la cohésion sociale et la solidarité envers les membres en difficulté, donc la gestion des formes bénignes d’inadaptation sociale par les réseaux sociaux secondaires, quand les parents sont dépassés ;
  • Les moyens d’actions des pouvoirs publics en matière de prévention et de traitement de l’inadaptation sociale juvénile ne se limitent pas à la mise en place du cadre juridique que nous avons évoqué.  Les parents peuvent bénéficier d’un accompagnement technique dans la prise en main éducative de leurs enfants en se rapprochant par exemple des Centres Sociaux de leur arrondissement de résidence. Les Services de l’Action Sociale auprès des Commissariats, des Juridictions et des Etablissements pénitentiaires assurent entre autres le soutien psychosocial des mineurs dans la chaine d’administration de la justice juvénile. Des institutions publiques d’encadrement des mineurs et de rééducation des mineurs inadaptés sociaux assurent l’évaluation de leur situation et la restructuration de leur personnalité en vue d’une meilleure réinsertion sociale. Les administrations impliquées développent par ailleurs des programmes visant à renforcer les capacités des parents à jouer leur rôle, tels que le programme d’éducation parentale, le programme d’éducation des populations à la parenté responsable, le projet de lutte contre le phénomène des enfants de la rue. Ceci permettrait aux enfants d’éviter des comportements pernicieux.
  • Agissant dans le prolongement des actions étatiques, les structures privées d’encadrement des enfants accroissent les capacités nationales de prise en charge institutionnelle des enfants inadaptés sociaux en vue de leur réinsertion sociale.
  • Les organisations de la société civile doivent poursuivre le plaidoyer pour le respect et la réalisation des droits de l’enfant, promouvoir l’harmonie familiale, et assurer le relai des messages du Gouvernement au sein des communautés.
  • En octroyant les secours de l’Etat aux familles indigentes et en les appuyant dans la réalisation d’activités génératrices de revenus, les Collectivités Territoriales Décentralisées s’attaquent à la question de la pauvreté comme déterminant indirect de l’inadaptation sociale juvénile (glissement de l’enfant vers la rue à la recherche du pain quotidien et exposition à la promiscuité avec d’autres délinquants).
  • Les confessions religieuses concourent à la prévention de l’inadaptation sociale juvénile par l’éducation des ouailles à l’harmonie familiale et à la parenté responsable.
1A défaut de telles institutions, le mineur sera détenu dans une prison pour majeurs mais il devra être séparé de ceux-ci. Le souci du législateur ici, conforme en cela aux prescriptions des instruments juridiques universels, et d’éviter  le phénomène de contagion criminelle et d’autres risques auxquels pourrait être exposé le mineur.

Langue

Français (Fr)

Recherche

Calendrier

juin 2018
lmmjvsd
123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930

Statistiques de Visites

mod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_counter
mod_vvisit_counterAujourd'hui307
mod_vvisit_counterHier815
mod_vvisit_counterCette semaine1805
mod_vvisit_counterSemaine dernière5410
mod_vvisit_counterCe mois15247
mod_vvisit_counterMois dernier22239
mod_vvisit_counterTotal depuis mai 2011878990

Qui est en ligne ?

Nous avons 27 invités en ligne