Fight Against Social Exclusion

  • PDFPrintE-mail

Social exclusion stems from the inability of individuals, groups and communities to meet the social requirements. Thus, globally, the phenomenon affects several types of targets that are not subject to the exclusive attention of the Ministry of Social Affairs. In other words, the fight against social exclusion is a cross-sectoral and transversal activity. It concerns the government as a whole.
In effect, social exclusion appears as a process of social disqualification which is characterised by the dependence of the excluded vis-à-vis the group, the family or tribe. From this point of view and for the development of our country, it implies economic, social and political costs which can only be minimised through national solidarity.
The Decree N°2011/408 of December 9, 2011 on the organisation of the government assigns to the Ministry of Social Affairs, among others missions to  «fight against social exclusion in connection with the ministries concerned.»
The fight against exclusion will be made up of all measures envisaged or taken in order to ensure the socio-economic integration and re-integration of target populations, where the transversal and multisectoral nature of it.

I. Description and characteristics of target groups

The observation of the cameroonian society reveals the categories of  social groups which can be victims of social exclusion or threathened by that phenomenon. These include :
• people with disabilities;
• children in distress (children separated from their parents, abandoned children, children in conflict with the law, orphaned or vulnerable children due to HIV/AIDS;
• imprisoned children ;
• people with special protection needs (albino, former lepers, older persons, people living with HIV/AIDS, the seriously ill);
• socially maladjusted people (prostitutes, drug addicts) ;
• marginal populations (pygmies, bororo, mountain dwellers, itinerants, nomadic fulani);
• the unemployed;
• the poor;
• victims of accidents and disasters;
• displaced people.
These populations are characterised by:
• precariousness;
• lack of legal and security protection;
• problem of access to education;
• problem of access to health care;
• lack of employment.
All these barriers to the fulfilment deprive society of serious human resources on the development site. In the era of greater achievements, we should welcomed the fact that Cameroon is provided, for purposes of the case by a constitution that protects minorities and children. However, the fate of man which constitutes the central concern of the government, it is logical to examine measures taken within the framework of the fight against social exclusion.

II. Policy orientation and measures taken to fight against social exclusion

To meet the expectations arising from this situation, the Ministry of Social Affairs defined two organisational components of social services as strategic orientation of its social intervention system. These include:
- the establishment of specialised institutions in connection with the specific needs and social problems lived by the beneficiaries (Re-education institutions, institutions delivering care to children, institutions for the rehabilitation of persons with disabilities, social integration institutions, specialised social action services and social services) in connection with basic communities;
- the promotion of interventions of actors of the national and international civil society (private social concerns, non-governmental organisations, associations, economic actors, international organisations) which contribute to the improvement of the living conditions of disadvantaged individuals, groups and communities.
As concerns the fight against exclusion of vulnerable populations, MINAS intends to:
- Develop a safety net for the benefit of socially maladjusted people;
- Promote the commitment of the entire society beside the State in order to reduce social inequalities;
- Meet the needs and promote self-organisation of groups and communities.
The identification of targets and their characteristics brings the Government to take necessary legislative, regulatory and institutional measures in accordance with the Constitution of Cameroon, which affirms the commitment of Cameroonian people to the fundamental freedoms inscribed in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the Charter of the United Nations, the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights, the International Conventions relating to nondiscrimination duly ratified by Cameroon. Measures to fight against this phenomenon depend on specificities of each target group and is materialised within the framework of national solidarity.
By choosing this strategy, the Ministry of Social Affairs is consistent with the conclusions of the World Summit on Social Development held in 1995 in Copenhagen and the eighth Millennium Development Goal which presents international solidarity as one of the effective strategies to achieve the MDGs by the year 2015. The creation of a national solidarity system aims at pooling their respective efforts of various national social actors as well as those of their bilateral and multilateral partners, in the search for effective solutions to the problems of social exclusion, this through a functional and multisectoral partnership.
In a bid to render this strategy operational, the first forum on National Solidarity in Cameroon was held from June 21 to June 24, 2005 in Yaounde.  Actors from all sectors of the national socio-economic life and development partners were able on the one hand to become imbued with the situation of the socially excluded in Cameroon and the emergency of their problems, and secondly, contribute to the selection of priorities and orientations of actions in the short, medium and long term through appropriate recommendations.
At the end of the forum, a matrix for the implementation of these recommendations has been drafted. It combines these recommendations in three components relating to the following domains the:
- strengthening and improvement of legislation and regulation favourable to vulnerable groups;
- improvement of institutional framework for the social protection of these groups;
- strengthening, rationalisation and diversification of partnership and cooperation in meeting the needs of victims of exclusion.
Through the high instructions of January 13, 2006, the Prime Minister, Head of Government ordered the implementation of this matrix.
Thus, several actions in favour of target populations have been carried out and measures have been taken in application with the said instructions.

Language

English (UK)

Research

Calender

November 2018
MTWTFSS
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930

Visitors Statistics

mod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_counter
mod_vvisit_counterToday638
mod_vvisit_counterYesterday1169
mod_vvisit_counterThis week4148
mod_vvisit_counterLast week9158
mod_vvisit_counterThis month16278
mod_vvisit_counterLast month18790
mod_vvisit_counterAll days1004188

Who's Online

We have 39 guests online

Lutte Contre l'Exclusion Sociale

  • PDFImprimerEnvoyer

I- Présentation

L’exclusion sociale découle de l’incapacité pour les individus, groupes ou communautés, à s’adapter aux exigences sociales. Ainsi pris globalement, le phénomène touche plusieurs types de cibles qui ne sont pas l’objet de l’attention du seul Ministère des Affaires Sociales. Autrement dit, la lutte contre l’exclusion sociale est une entreprise transversale et multisectorielle, elle concerne le Gouvernement en entier.
En effet, l’exclusion sociale apparaît comme un processus de disqualification sociale qui se caractérise par la dépendance des exclus vis-à-vis du groupe, de la famille ou de la tribu. De ce point de vue, elle induit pour le développement de notre pays des coûts économiques, sociaux et politiques que seule la solidarité nationale peut minimiser.
Le Décret N° 2011/408 du 09 Décembre 2011 portant Organisation  du Gouvernement définissant les missions du Ministère des Affaires Sociales, le charge entre autres «de la lutte contre les exclusions sociales en liaison avec les Ministères  concernés. »
La lutte contre l’exclusion va donc être l’ensemble des mesures envisagées ou prises en vue de l’insertion, la réinsertion socio-économique des populations cibles, d’où le caractère transversal et multisectoriel de celle-ci.

II- Description et caractéristiques des cibles

L’observation de la société camerounaise nous révèle les catégories suivantes des groupes sociaux pouvant être victimes de l’exclusion sociale ou menacées par ledit phénomène. Il s’agit des :
- personnes handicapées ;
- enfants en situation difficile (enfants séparés de leurs parents, enfants abandonnés, enfants en conflit avec la loi, enfants orphelins ou vulnérables du fait du VIH/SIDA ;
- détenus ;
- personnes ayant besoin d’une protection spéciale (albinos, lépreux-blanchis, personnes âgées, les personnes vivant avec le VIH/SIDA, les grands malades) ;
- personnes inadaptées sociales (les prostitués, les toxicomanes) ;
- populations marginales (Pygmées, Bororo, Montagnards, itinérants, Peuhl nomades, populations de criques) ;
- chômeurs et les déflatés ;
- indigents ;
- victimes des sinistres et des catastrophes ;
- personnes déplacées.
Ces populations se caractérisent par :
- La précarité ;
- Le manque de protection d’ordre juridique et sécuritaire ;
- Les difficultés d’accès à l’éducation ;
- Les problèmes d’accès aux soins de santé ;
- Le manque d’emploi.
Toutes ces entraves à l’épanouissement privent la société d’importantes ressources humaines sur le chantier du développement. A l’ère des grandes réalisations, il faut se féliciter de ce que le Cameroun se soit doté pour les besoins de la cause, d’une Constitution qui protège aussi bien les minorités que les enfants. Or, le sort de l’homme constituant la préoccupation centrale du Gouvernement, il est logique d’examiner les mesures prises dans le cadre de la lutte contre l’exclusion sociale.

III- Orientation de politique et mesures prises pour lutter contre l’exclusion sociale

    Pour répondre aux attentes qui découlent de cette situation,  le Ministère des Affaires Sociales a défini comme orientations stratégiques de son système d’intervention sociale, deux composantes organisationnelles de services sociaux :
    -    La mise en place des institutions spécialisées en liaison avec les besoins spécifiques et les problèmes sociaux vécus par les bénéficiaires (institutions de rééducation, d’encadrement des enfants, de réhabilitation des personnes handicapées, d’intégration sociale, les services d’action sociale spécialisés, et les centres sociaux) en liaison avec les communautés de base ;
    -    La promotion des interventions des acteurs de la société civile nationale et internationale  (Œuvres Sociales Privées, Organisations Non Gouvernementales, Associations, Acteurs économiques, organismes internationaux) qui contribuent à l’amélioration des conditions de vie des individus et des groupes et communautés  défavorisés.
    Il s’agit concrètement pour le MINAS,  en matière de lutte contre l’exclusion des populations vulnérables,  de :
    -   Dresser un filet de sauvetage au profit des inadaptés sociaux ;
    -   Favoriser l’engagement de l’ensemble de la société aux côtés de l’Etat, de manière à réduire les inégalités sociales ;
    -    Satisfaire les besoins et promouvoir l’auto organisation des goupes et communautés.
    L’identification des cibles et de leurs caractéristiques  amène le Gouvernement à prendre les mesures législatives, réglementaires et institutionnelles conformément à la Constitution du Cameroun qui affirme l’attachement du peuple Camerounais aux libertés fondamentales inscrites dans la Déclaration Universelle des Droits de l’Homme, la Charte des Nations-Unies, la Charte africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples, les Conventions Internationales relatives à la non discrimination dûment ratifiées par le Cameroun. Les mesures visant la lutte contre ce phénomène sont donc fonction des spécificités de chacune des cibles et se matérialise dans le cadre de la solidarité nationale.
    En choisissant cette stratégie, le Ministère des Affaires Sociales reste conforme aux conclusions du Sommet Mondial sur le Développement Social de 1995 à Copenhague et au 8ème Objectif du Millénaire pour le Développement qui présente la solidarité internationale comme une des stratégies d’atteinte efficace des OMD d’ici 2015. La création d’un système de solidarité nationale vise ainsi à mutualiser les efforts respectifs des différents acteurs sociaux nationaux ainsi que ceux de leurs partenaires bi et multilatéraux, dans la recherche des solutions efficaces aux problèmes des exclus sociaux, ceci à travers un partenariat fonctionnel et multisectoriel.
    C’est dans l’optique de rendre opérationnelle cette stratégie que s’est tenu du 21 au 24 juin 2005 à Yaoundé, le Premier Forum sur la Solidarité National au Cameroun. Des acteurs venus de tous les secteurs de la vie socioéconomique nationale et les partenaires au développement ont ainsi pu d’une part, s’imprégner de la situation des exclus sociaux au Cameroun et de l’urgence de leurs problèmes, et d’autre part contribuer au choix des priorités et des orientations d’actions à court, moyen et long termes à travers des recommandations pertinentes.
    A l’issue du Forum, une matrice de mise en œuvre de ces recommandations a été élaborée, regroupant celles-ci en trois composantes relatives aux domaines suivants :
    - Le renforcement et l’amélioration de la législation et de la réglementation favorables aux catégories  vulnérables ;
    -  L’amélioration du cadre institutionnel de protection sociale desdites catégories ;
    - Le renforcement, la rationalisation et la diversification du partenariat et de la coopération dans la prise en charge des préoccupations des victimes de l’exclusion.
    A travers de hautes instructions datées du 13 janvier 2006, le Premier Ministre Chef du Gouvernement a ordonné la mise en œuvre de cette matrice.
    Plusieurs actions en faveur des cibles ont ainsi été menées et des mesures prises en application desdites instructions.

    Langue

    Français (Fr)

    Recherche

    Calendrier

    juin 2018
    lmmjvsd
    123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930

    Statistiques de Visites

    mod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_counter
    mod_vvisit_counterAujourd'hui306
    mod_vvisit_counterHier815
    mod_vvisit_counterCette semaine1804
    mod_vvisit_counterSemaine dernière5410
    mod_vvisit_counterCe mois15246
    mod_vvisit_counterMois dernier22239
    mod_vvisit_counterTotal depuis mai 2011878989

    Qui est en ligne ?

    Nous avons 23 invités en ligne